Home > CNC Machine > CNC Machine Update – New Bearing Brackets

CNC Machine Update – New Bearing Brackets

Yay, seems like progress was made on my CNC machine today. The whole project had been halted due to the machine not being able to travel the entire length of either the X or Y axises. After loosening the bearing adjustments it could, but would be really sloppy at the opposite side. The problem was the bearing brackets I made poorly. So, I had to partially disassemble to replace the X & Y brackets (I haven’t assembled the Z axis yet).

Levitate Me...

When I remade the brackets, I used templates drawn in CAD and glued  on using rubber cement. By gently scoring the center line with a razor and straight edge, the template folded and located on the edge of the aluminum angle. This eliminated much of the error I made last time layout my parts. Then I punched the centers of the four side holes, center drilled and drilled to size.

The flat on the angles were made the same as last, with an end mill in the drill press and stops bolted to the table on both sides. Probably not the intended use, and probably screwed the spindle up a bit, but oh well. The holes in the flat were done the same as others, punched, center drilled and drilled to size. Finally each bracket was thoroughly deburred with a stone, and voila.

Categories: CNC Machine Tags:
  1. June 27, 2011 at 2:07 pm

    Dude you are so lucky to have a CNC machine. I would trade my XBOX 360 for one heh…

    I need to play lotto or something to buy one 🙂 Good work on this!

    • June 27, 2011 at 2:44 pm

      Thanks, I’ve been working towards one for a while. Hopefully it will lead to some lucrative business opportunities or at least better looking projects.

      • June 27, 2011 at 2:47 pm

        You have cool stuff already cant wait for more 😀 I hope this CNC brings you business. Thats the same reason i wanted one and also to do things like CNC a IPOD and stuff for friends

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

