Home > CNC Machine > New Router for CNC Machine

New Router for CNC Machine

Yay, Santa came through on the new router for Christmas, albeit a little late (he wasn’t sure what size I needed and was in my area on Santa business). It’s a Bosch 1HP palm router featuring a speed selection and detachable handle for a nice circular area to hold on to. Naturally, it was smaller than CNC router holder and the adapter for the other router.

New and old Routers.

I tried and failed at a complicated three-jawed system within the old adapter before getting new material. By chance, I found the same diameter PVC pipe, but with a thicker wall and made it work by cutting out an inch section and the pipe was able to close over the router body. A notch had to be cut on the bottom side to allow access to the shaft holding button (or whatever its called).

New router adapter.

All back together again.

The tool holder is squeezed pretty tight, so a new one may be the first project. Before that the table still needs to be milled flat, which I guess is the next step.

 

 

Categories: CNC Machine Tags:
  1. March 15, 2012 at 6:18 pm

    Awesome! (as usual) Dude im starting my own CNC project in Mid April and would love some pointers when the time comes.

    I plan on doing a FULL CUSTOM design meaning i might look at others for ideas but there are no actual PLANS or SCHEMATIC or the sort.

    Do you think this is a wise choice? I have no MECHANICAL skills really but it seems like people over complicate the mechanics of these things.

    To my eyes there should be 2 MAJOR parts and 1 MINOR part of the whole CNC.

    2 major parts consist of the x and y axis. The x and y axis both move independently of the other, meaning when the Y axis moves (I to O) the other stays still.

    1 minor part is basically the Z axis. Which i call minor since its on the X axis(i think x is L to R)
    when X moves so does Z (on the X axis) but it has its own stepper to control its axis for (U to D)

    L, R = Left, Right(X)
    U, D = Up, Down(Z)
    I, O = In Out (Y)

    If the above is correct in the most basic sense then creating the TABLE should not be hard. The only thing would be electronics which i play to buy anyway… $250 for a set of 3 stepppers and controllers and a nice power supply. I think the only real chore would be to add limit switches.

    So what do you think? am i on the right track?

    P.S. Sorry for this long comment. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • March 15, 2012 at 6:50 pm

      Sounds like you’re on the right track. I had a hard time trying to build my own design since I didn’t really have the right tools, space or ability to cut a straight piece of anything, but maybe you do. The Rockcliff controller board I got had places to connect limit switches plus extra spaces I used to control a relay for the router. Don’t forget an emergency stop, I’ve used the hell out of that and haven’t even made anything yet.

      • March 15, 2012 at 7:10 pm

        LMAO i love this…

        “Donโ€™t forget an emergency stop, Iโ€™ve used the hell out of that and havenโ€™t even made anything yet.”

        Thats funny, i bet it will be the same for me.

        Well while i dont have all the tools yet my father works as a electrician/carpenter and his collection is worth well over $100,000 . He has table saws, hammer drill, impact drills, regular drills, circular saws, threaders and well the list goes on and on. He says its no problem for me to use it… (im 27 years old) i should just be safe ๐Ÿ™‚

        He has a work area like a .. um… basement with separate rooms and such. Ill definitely ask him for a key asap so i can come and go as i please.

        I cant even draw a straight line let alone cut one ๐Ÿ™‚ but im sure with the right tools and rulers and etc i can get the job done.

        Google and Youtube are great to have !

      • March 15, 2012 at 9:31 pm

        Awesome, give it a shot. With better tools and work area you’ll have better results, for sure.

  2. March 18, 2012 at 7:35 pm

    Yeah, i have to go see my pops tomorrow. Ill ask about the shop. I know i might have to make my own work area as not to loose or damage anything important… also ill need to setup a laptop there so i can review stuff online.

    Im so excited and cant wait to start this. Now i just need to find me a baby sitter ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    • March 19, 2012 at 9:50 am

      I just saw a new open source CNC project going on. Its a small machine but under $500. Might be what you’re looking for, Shapeoko.

      • March 19, 2012 at 10:51 am

        Link please! ๐Ÿ™‚ Sounds perfect for me. I can use the small one to build a big one ๐Ÿ™‚

      • March 19, 2012 at 11:20 am

        Guh, there it goes. Stupid formatting…

  3. March 19, 2012 at 7:00 pm

    If anything just email me the link : AtomSoft@gmail.com

  4. August 28, 2012 at 3:17 pm

    Great tool holder.
    Thank you for this great idea

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

