Home > CNC Machine > CNC Machine Table Milled

CNC Machine Table Milled

Yay, three times is the charm. My CNC machine finally milled it’s table flat without motors stalling or random nuts coming loose. Since the second attempt, I tweaked the bearing adjustments on the Y-axis and upped the current to all the motors for more torque. The motors got slightly hotter, but not so much that I couldn’t touch them. I also ran the table cutting program a few times without a tool to work out any other kinks.

Table finally milled.

Cutting the table seemed to take out the inaccuracies from building and you can see in the corners where the high sides were cut shallower than the low side. When I glued the table together I didn’t notice it was twisted slightly on one end. Luckily it could be compensated for in the end.

High corner cut .112" deep.

Lowest corner cut .275" deep.

The run wasn’t without its problems though. Being so pleased with the dust extractor I built, I got a new filter for the shop vac for maximum performance. It was too much for the all-purpose bucket, and the vacuum imploded it slightly and let all the wood dust through to the vacuum. Once the vacuum filter clogged it quit working and the dust went everywhere. Oh well, I bought a new bucket and some extra filtering material and it seems to be working again.

It held a vacuum, even while being sucked in further.

So now I can start making stuff on it, but since I’ve been putting my energy into building it, I’m not sure how to do that. I’ll probably start by making a fixture and hold-down clamps for circuit boards and plastic sheet. I’ve already read some webpages that I’ll try and emulate, so I just need to put it all together.

Categories: CNC Machine
  1. atomsofttech
    April 15, 2012 at 5:52 pm

    Now that is awesome! Great job. btw. its me atomsoft. New name

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

